Over fifty visitors were welcomed to the Metropole Hotel in Llandrindod Wells by Addoldai Cymru on Saturday 25 March to discover more about Caebach and Carmel Chapels, and learn how the Trust continues to care for these buildings and their history.
A number of former chapel members came along and watched a film made by Addoldai Cymru staff member, Revd Dr Tanya Jenkins, which told the story of Caebach’s formation by the Jones family of Trefonnen in 1715 and its subsequent journey to modern times. There were slide shows featuring both chapels and a display of archives – the majority of which had been collected from Caebach Chapel where long time church officer, Alwyn Batley, had meticulously labelled and filed them. One comment received at the end of the day was “Alwyn would have been absolutely made up coming here and seeing all of this.”
There will be more events featuring Caebach and Carmel chapels later this year and the film and slide shows will be added to Addoldai Cymru’s website at welshchapels.wales before too long.
With thanks to Sue Cole